Wednesday, February 1, 2012

News Update DOE forms committee to review oil companies’ books

The Department of Energy on Tuesday said it formed an independent review committee to examine the books of oil companies amid allegations of overpricing. The committee is headed by economist and former Budget Secretary Benjamin Diokno. Its members are economist Victor Ebola and accountant Dexter Ortega, as well as Dr. Rene Azurin from the academe, Dr. Jesus Estanislao from the business community, Raul Concepcion from the consumer group, and Atty. Vigor Mendoza from the public transport sector. — AL/VS