Thursday, March 22, 2012

News Update CA Bypasses 5 Cabinet Men

MANILA, Philippines - The bicameral Commission on Appointments (CA) bypassed yesterday five members of the Aquino administration's Cabinet as the constitutional body goes into a six-week Lenten recess starting Thursday.
The five Cabinet members are Secretaries Leila de Lima of the Department of Justice, Corazon "Dinky" J. Soliman of the Department of Social Welfare and Development, Ramon Jesus P. Paje of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Ramon R. Jimenez of the Department of Tourism, and Jesse M. Robredo of the Department of the Interior and Local Governments.
Aside from the five department secretaries, also considered bypassed was businessman Domingo Lee who was nominated by President Benigno S. Aquino III as the Philippine Ambassador to the People's Republic of China (PROC).
All of them require another presidential appointment as ad interim appointees during the congressional recess. (Mario B. Casayuran)